Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Post-Independent Administrative Reorganisation And Changes In Jurisdiction Of Jalpaiguri District of West Bengal (1947-1997)
Other Titles: Karatoya, NBU J. Hist. Vol 12, March 2019, p 25 - 40
Authors: Ghosh, Arun
Keywords: Partition
Boundary Commission
Issue Date: Mar-2019
Publisher: University of North Bengal
Abstract: In 1947, during the time of independence of India, there was a plan of partition of Bengal by the British Colonial Government. So, a Boundary Commission was formed to decide the political boundary between two parts of Bengal province (West Bengal and East Bengal). This Commission was under the chairmanship of Sir Cyril Radcliffe and he was assisted by two Muslim and two non-Muslim members. During that time, there was tug of war situation between the Congress, Hindu Mahasabha and Muslim League regarding the district of Jalpaiguri. However, after the publication of Radcliffe’s Award this district was divided into East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) and West Bengal (India). Five police stations of this district were added with East Pakistan, and rest police stations were added with West Bengal. With that partition, jurisdiction of this district compressed from its earlier position. After independence of India and partition of Bengal, till the 50 years of independence the district was administratively reorganised several times, whenever it needed. So in this way the reorganising process of the administrative level of this district took its place, which effected upon several aspects of this district.
ISSN: 2229-4880
Appears in Collections:Karatoya Vol.12 (March 2019)

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Karatoya vol 12 Article No 3.pdfPost-Independent Administrative Reorganisation And Changes In Jurisdiction Of Jalpaiguri District of West Bengal (1947-1997)195.18 kBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in NBU-IR are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.