ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

This thesis embodies the results of the investigations undertaken by the author at the Department of Chemistry, North Bengal University, Dist. Darjeeling, W.B., India, under the invaluable guidance and active supervision of Professor B.Majee and the author deems it a proud privilege to convey his deepest sense of gratitude to Prof. Majee at the very first opportunity.

The author gratefully acknowledges the help received from Dr. P. Bandopadhyay, Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, NBU, at the various stages of the work.

The author expresses his indebtedness to Dr.T.K.Chatterjee, Registrar, NBU, Dr. B. Basu, Dept. of Chemistry, NBU, Dr. K. K. Das, Dept. of Chemistry, Jadavpur University, Dr. T. S. BasuBaul, RSIC, NEHU and Sri D. Banerjee, Dept. of Chemistry, Berhampore Women's College for their kind help.

The author thankfully acknoledges the help and encouragement received from Dr.S.K.Saha, Dr.S.K.Sarkar, Dr.D.P.Boot, Dr.F.K.Mondal and Sri A.K.Roy, all of North Bengal University, during the progress of the work.

The author wishes to extend his warmest thanks to all his fellow workers, specially to Dr.A.K.Kumar. Dr.Subhasish Mitra and Dr. (Miss) Rupa Bhowmik for their help in experimental work.

The author takes this opportunity to extend his heartiest thanks to all the teachers and staff members of the Department of Chemistry and also to the authorities of North Bengal University. Special thanks are due to the staff members of the university library for their cooperation.

. Thanks are also extended to the authorities of CDRI, Lucknow and RSIC, NEHU for help in analytical and spectroscopic work.

The author expresses his gratitude to the UGC for awarding a Teacher Fellowship and the authorities of A. C. College, Jalpaiguri, for granting study leave, which enabled him to undertake the research work.

Above all, the encouragements received from his family members and their sacrifices in relieving him, albeit temporarily, from his duties and responsibilities towards them, are gratefully remembered by the author.

HIRANMAY BISHAS)

Dept. of Chemistry,

A. C. College, Jalpaiguri, PIN-735101, INDIA.