Appendix I

Definitions.

Police Station.

Popularly known as P.S. is the smallest administrative unit of the state of West Bengal. A district is generally divided into a number of police stations for administrative purposes.

Sub-division.

The State Government is given the authority to devide a district into sub-divisions for criminal administration and to appoint a sub-divisional Magistrate for each subdivision.

Block.

The block is an administrative unit below the sub-division of a district for organising community development and agricultural programmes. In contrast to other administrative units each block has an area defined by particular size and population. For instance a block generally covers an area of 400 to 500 sq. kms., containing about 60,000 - 70,000 population and including hearly 100 villages. It is a unit more responsible for development than administration of the rural areas.