## **UNIVERSITY OF NORTH BENGAL**

# The minutes of the Emergency Meeting of the Executive Council held on 18/02/2014 at 2.30 p.m. in the Meeting Room of the Vice-Chancellor, University of North Bengal

### The following members were present:

- 1. Prof Somnath Ghosh, Vice Chancellor, University of North Bengal. In the Chair
- 2. Prof. Amitabha Mukhopadhyay, Dean, Faculty Council for PG Studies in Science, University of North Bengal
- 3. Prof. Palas R. Sengupta, Dean, Faculty Council for PG Studies in Arts, Commerce & Law, University of North Bengal
- 4. Prof. Indrajit Ray, Vice-Chancellor, Panchanan Barma University, Cooch Behar & Member Executive Council, University of North Bengal
- 5. Principal, A.C. Training College, Jalpaiguri
- 6. Principal, Darjeeling Government College, Darjeeling.
- 7. Dr. Debkumar Mukherjee, Principal, Mayanaguri College, Jalpaiguri
- 8. Dr. Abdul Kader Safily, Principal, Sahid Khudiram College, Kamakhyaguri, Jalpaigguri
- 9. Dr. Subhas Chandra Roy, Head, Department of Botany, University of North Bengal
- 10. Prof. S. N. Dhar, Head, Department of Commerce, NBU
- 11. Principal, Jalpaiguri Law College, Jalpaiguri
- 12. Principal, Indian Institute of Legal Studies, Siliguri.

At the outset, the members of the Executive Council heartily welcome Professor Somnath Ghosh as Vice-chancellor, North Bengal University

The members also thankfully acknowledges the services rendered, as members of the Executive Council, by the three Heads of the Post Graduate Departments, North Bengal University, namely, Commerce, Chemistry and Botany.

Agenda: 1 To review the earlier decision of the Executive Council held on 03/02/2014 relating to Election of NBUSA in view of the advice given by the Principal Secretary, Department of Higher Education, povernment of West Bengal.

**Decision:** The earlier decision of the Executive Council meeting dated 03/02/2014 was reconsidered in view of the advice given by the Principal Secretary, Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal. The recommendation of the Election Committee meeting held on 18/02/2014 at 12.30 p.m. was accepted.

In view of the above, it was resolved that the proposed schedule for preparation of electoral roll and subsequent election process of NBU Students Association election be deferred. The decision shall be communicated to the Principal Secretary, Department of Higher Education for kind information.

#### NOTE: Confirmed with immediate effect by the Chair.

Registrar (Offg) be requested to take necessary action.

#### Agenda placed by the Chair:

(a) To consider the letter of the Teacher-in-Charge, Raiganj College (University College) addressed to the Vice-chancellor, NBU requesting for the extension of date of examination form fill up for Three Year Honours and General Course and giving opportunity for making corrections in the Registration Data Base of students from some colleges which has already sent to the Controller of Examinations.

**Decision:** The genuine problem of few students who could not fill up examination forms and the error in registration certificates from some colleges were sympathetically considered. It was resolved that Hon'ble Vice-chancellor be authorized to issue necessary instruction by giving last chance to the left out candidates for examination form fill up and correction of registration Data Base in consultation with the Controller of Examinations.

#### NOTE: Confirmed with immediate effect by the Chair.

Registrar (Offg) be requested to take necessary action.

(b) Top consider the Draft syllabus of B.A. Pass and Honours Course in Political Science, Philosophy and History in Hindi medium as translated and modified by the experts nominated by the Task Force for Government General Degree College in Hindi Medium at Banarhat.

**Decision:** The Draft syllabus was considered and resolved that the same draft be approved. The Secretary, Under Graduate Council be requested to take necessary action.

#### NOTE: Confirmed with immediate effect by the Chair.

The meeting ended with a Vote of Thanks to the Chair.

Barin

(Professor B. P. Dwivedi)

Secretary

Sommath Shish 19.2.2014

(Professor Somnath Ghosh)

Chairman