## UNIVERSITY OF NORTH BENGAL

The minutes of the Emergent Meeting of the Executive Council held on 13.11.2009 in the Meeting Room of the Vice-chancellor, North Bengal University

The following members were present:

- 1. Prof. Arunabha Basumajumdar, Vice-chancellor (in the Chair)
- 2. Professor B. Basu
- 3. The Principal, Jalpaiguri Govt. Engineering College
- 4. Dr. Debabrata Mitra
- 5. Dr. Ashis Kumar Nanda
- 6. Prof. S. R. Mondal
- 7. Dr. Aniruddha Saha
- 8. Dr. Subrata Sanyal
- 9. Dr. Partha Sarathi Das
- 10.Dr. Debi Prasad Boot
- 11. The Finance Officer (Invitee)
- 12. The Controller of Examinations (Invitee)
- 13. The Jt. Chief University Engineer (Invitee)

Agenda: (i) To consider a note from the Vice-chancellor regarding submission of requisition to the State Govt. for acquiring 37 acres of land without any encumbrances from Jalpaiguri Govt. Engineering College, Jalpaiguri for setting up of Second Campus of University of North Bengal at Jalpaiguri.

**Decision:** The note from the Hon'ble Vice-chancellor vide No. F.242/VC-09/3385 dated 13.11.2009 for setting up the Second Campus of the University of North Bengal at Jalpaiguri be approved and in consideration of the said note vis-à-vis the letter from Shri S. K. Chanda, Joint Secretary to the Government of West Bengal, Department of Higher Education (vide Memo No. 623-Edn(U)/1U(NB)-20/08 dated Kolkata, the 10<sup>th</sup> November, 2009) it was resolved that the State Government be moved immediately for acquiring about 37 acres of land without any encumbrances from the Jalpaiguri Govt. Engineering College for setting up the Second Campus of the University of North Bengal at Jalpaiguri. In this connection, the Finance Officer and the Principal, Jalpaiguri Govt. Engineering College be requested to take necessary action for acquiring the said piece of land after observing the necessary formalities.

It was further resolved that the State Govt. be approached for providing the required fund for construction of the boundary wall as well as the approach road to the proposed Second Campus. The Jt. Chief University Engineer be requested to take necessary action in this respect.

It was further resolved that the following courses of studies be initially opened after obtaining the opinion of the corresponding Faculty Councils for Post Graduate Studies in the Second Campus from the session 2010-2011 subject to approval of the State Govt. and the University Grants Commission vis-à-vis availability of appropriate fund from the State Govt. and/or the UGC.

1. Faculty of Arts, Commerce & Law

(i) M.A. in Social Welfare

(ii)M.A. in Hindi

(iii)M.A. in Education

(iv) M.Ed.

2. Faculty of Science

(i)M.Sc. in Food & Nutrition (ii)M.Sc. in Geography (iii)M.Sc. in Physiology (iv)M.Sc. in Applied Mathematics

3. Faculty of Technology

(i)M.Tech in Food Technology

(ii)M.Tech in Pharmaceutical Technology

The members opined that the following courses be also opened in the Second Campus if otherwise found feasible.

- 1. M.A. in Applied Psychology
- 2. M.A. in Creative Literature
- 3. M.Sc. in Environmental Science
- 4. M.Tech in Disaster Management

In this connection the following committee be constituted to prepare the Detailed Project Report (DPR) along with Plan and Estimate for setting up the Second Campus and submission of the same before the State Govt. and UGC.

| 1. Vice-chancellor                           | - | Chairman |
|--|---|----------|
| 2. Sri Tarini Roy, MP, Coochbehar            | - | Member   |
| 3. Sri Mahendra Nath Roy, MP, Jalpaiguri     | - | Member   |
| 4. Registrar                                 | - | Convener |
| 5. Finance Officer                           | _ | Member   |
| 6. Principal, Jalpaiguri Govt. Engg. College | - | Member   |
| 7. The Dean, FC for P.G. Studies in Science  | - | Member   |
| 8. The Dean, FC for P.G. Studies in ACL      | - | Member   |
| 9. Prof. Basudeb Basu, Member, EC            | - | Member   |
| 10.Dr. Debabrata Mitra, Member, EC           | - | Member   |
| 11.Dr. A. K. Nanda, Member, EC               | - | Member   |
| 12.Prof. S. R. Mondal, Member, EC            | - | Member   |
| 13.Dr. Aniruddha Saha, Member, EC            | - | Member   |
| 14.Jt. Chief University Engineer             | - | Member   |
| 15.Dr. S. K. Rakshit, Deputy Registrar       | - | Member   |
| 16.Dr. M. Chakraborty, Development Officer   | - | Member   |
|  |   |          |

The report of the Committee be submitted preferably by 30.11.2009.

The Registrar be requested to convene the 1st meeting of the above Committee on 20<sup>th</sup> November at 11.00 a.m. in the meeting room of the Vice-chancellor to expedite the matter.

The members of the Executive Council also expressed deep sense of appreciation for the initiative taken by the Hon'ble Chief Minister, West Bengal, Minister of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India and the Minister-in-Charge, Higher Education Department, Govt. of West Bengal towards furtherance of higher education facilities in this region.

NOTE: Confirmed with immediate effect by the Chair.

The Meeting ended with a Vote of Thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. A. Basuniajumdar)

Chairman

(Dr. S. K. Rakshit)

Secretary